Ethique vs HiBAR Shampoo Bars
Quick answer
Ethique costs $0.95 less per bar ($14 against $14.95) and publishes a 110 g weight and an 80+ wash average for its hydrating bar; HiBAR publishes neither a weight nor a wash count, only bottle equivalents. HiBAR states its bars are free of sulfates, while Ethique's Hydrating and Clarifying lists include Sodium Coco-Sulfate. Both sell a fragrance-free bar and curl bar. Choose Ethique for the numbers, HiBAR for the ingredient exclusions.
Key takeaways
- Price: $14 (Ethique) against $14.95 (HiBAR).
- Size and life: Ethique 110 g and 80+ washes (Hydrating); HiBAR none published.
- Sulfates: HiBAR says none; Ethique's Hydrating and Clarifying lists include Sodium Coco-Sulfate.
- Both sell a fragrance-free bar and a curl bar.
Hydrating Shampoo Bar
Ethique describes it as an argan oil, hyaluronic acid and glycerine bar for dry hair, suitable for color-treated hair.
| Brand | Ethique |
|---|---|
| Published price | $14 |
| Price | $14 |
| Bar weight | 110 g / 3.9 oz net weight |
| Published wash count | 80+ washes on average (Ethique); depends on hair length and wash frequency |
| Scent (as published) | Fresh pear and vanilla |
| Ingredients (as published) | Sodium Coco-Sulfate, Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Stearic Acid, Aqua (Water), Glycerine, Decyl Glucoside, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Caprylic/Capric Triglyceride, Coconut Acid, Brassica Alcohol, Lactic Acid, Argania Spinosa Kernel (Argan) Oil, Fragrance (Parfum), Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Sodium Isethionate, Sodium Hyaluronate, Benzyl Alcohol, Dehydroacetic Acid, Mica, Limonene, Geraniol, Titanium Dioxide, Chromium Oxide Greens, Iron Oxides |
Curl-Defining Shampoo Bar
Ethique describes it as a cocoa and shea butter bar for defined, frizz-free curls, suitable for color-treated hair.
| Brand | Ethique |
|---|---|
| Published price | $14 |
| Price | $14 |
| Bar weight | 110 g / 3.9 oz net weight |
| Published wash count | Not published per bar (Ethique says a bar lasts as long as three bottles of liquid shampoo) |
| Scent (as published) | Tropical lemongrass and coconut |
| Ingredients (as published) | Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Stearic Acid, Sodium Cocoyl Glycinate, Glycerine, Coconut Acid, Theobroma Cacao (Cocoa) Seed Butter, Butyrospermum Parkii (Shea) Butter, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Betaine, Brassica Alcohol, Sodium Isethionate, Aqua (Water), Fragrance (Parfum), Guar Hydroxypropyltrimonium Chloride, Lactic Acid, Benzyl Alcohol, Sodium Chloride, Lemongrass Oil, Dehydroacetic Acid, plus preservatives, colorants and fragrance components |
Moisturize Shampoo Bar
HiBAR describes it as a soap-free, vegan bar for dry, frizzy, damaged or color-treated hair with vitamin B5, rice protein and cocoa butter.
| Brand | HiBAR |
|---|---|
| Published price | $14.95 |
| Price | $14.95 |
| Bar weight | Not stated on the product page |
| Published wash count | Not published; product copy says a bar lasts as long as 2 big bottles, FAQ says at least as long as a 16 oz bottle |
| Free of (per HiBAR) | Sulfates, parabens, phthalates, PEGs, ethanolamines, silicone, synthetic fragrance, artificial preservatives and dyes |
| Ingredients (as published) | Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate (Coconut Oil), Cocos Nucifera (Coconut) Oil, Stearic Acid, Cetearyl Alcohol, Behentrimonium Methosulfate, Polyquaternium 7, DL Panthenol (Vitamin B5), Cetyl Alcohol, Hydrolyzed Rice Protein, Natural Fragrance (citrus and ginger oils), Glyceryl Stearate, Propanediol, Mineral Pigment CI77007, Kaolin |
| Made in | St. Paul, MN (per HiBAR) |
Curl Shampoo Bar
HiBAR describes it as a soap-free bar for curly, wavy, textured or coily hair with babassu and pracaxi oils and rice protein.
| Brand | HiBAR |
|---|---|
| Published price | $14.95 |
| Price | $14.95 |
| Bar weight | Not stated on the product page |
| Published wash count | Not published; FAQ says a bar lasts at least as long as a 24 oz bottle |
| Free of (per HiBAR) | Sulfates (product copy: no harsh sulfates) |
| Ingredients (as published) | Sodium Cocoyl Isethionate, Stearamidopropyl Dimethylamine, Stearic Acid, Brassica Alcohol, Cetyl Alcohol, Babassu Seed Oil, DL Panthenol, Polyquaternium 44, Hydroxypropyltrimonium Hydrolyzed Corn Starch, Natural Fragrance, Pracaxi Oil, Aqua, Lactobacillus, Tomato Fruit Ferment Extract and others (unscented version offered) |
| Scent option | Unscented version offered |
Which is better value, Ethique or HiBAR?
| Ethique | HiBAR | |
|---|---|---|
| Price per bar | $14 | $14.95 |
| Bar weight | 110 g / 3.9 oz | Not stated |
| Published washes | Hydrating: 80+ average | Not published |
| Cost per wash | Hydrating: $0.175 or less | Not published |
| Bottle equivalent | As long as three bottles | Two big bottles (copy); at least 16 oz or 24 oz (FAQ) |
| Fragrance-free bar | Gentle (no added fragrance or essential oils) | Fragrance-Free Moisturize |
| Curl bar | Curl-Defining (lemongrass and coconut scent) | Curl (unscented version offered) |
| Packaging | Home-compostable | Recyclable cardboard, no plastic |
| Sulfate wording | Hydrating and Clarifying lists include Sodium Coco-Sulfate | States no sulfates |
Verdict: Ethique if you want the weight and wash count to compare against. HiBAR if the exclusion list matters most to you.
Where does Ethique win?
- Price and size: $14 for 110 g, which is $12.73 per 100 g. HiBAR's per-gram price cannot be calculated.
- A single published wash average: 80+ for the hydrating bar, enough for a per-wash figure of $0.175 or less (cost per wash).
- Breadth: the bars checked cover hydrating, curl-defining, clarifying, purple and fragrance-free needs, each with a full ingredient list on the page.
- Packaging claim: home-compostable, stated on the Hydrating page.
Where does HiBAR win?
- Exclusions: HiBAR lists what its bars omit: sulfates, parabens, phthalates, PEGs, ethanolamines, silicone, synthetic fragrance, artificial preservatives and dyes.
- Unscented options: a fragrance-free Moisturize bar, and an unscented Curl bar.
- A volume bar for fine hair with a published assay cited (up to 20% more volume after one use, Jan 2024, per HiBAR).
- Trial and travel: a shampoo bar sampler at $10.95 and a travel pouch at $8.95.
How do the sulfate claims compare?
The two brands phrase it differently, and the difference is visible in the lists.
- HiBAR states no sulfates on its Moisturize, Volumize and Fragrance-Free pages (the Curl page says without harsh sulfates), and the Moisturize list contains none.
- Ethique's Hydrating page says the bar is free from sulfates in its description, while its published list includes Sodium Coco-Sulfate; the Clarifying list includes it too. Its Gentle, Curl-Defining and Purple lists do not.
If avoiding sulfates matters, read the full list before buying rather than a headline. Soap-based vs syndet explains how the surfactant base is usually described.
How do bar-life claims compare?
Ethique: 80+ average washes for Hydrating; as long as three bottles for other bars. HiBAR: its Moisturize page gives two big bottles in the copy and at least a 16 oz bottle in the FAQ; its Curl FAQ says at least a 24 oz bottle; its Fragrance-Free page says two 24 oz bottles. On a break-even basis, HiBAR's range is $7.48 per 24 oz bottle at best and $14.95 per 24 oz bottle at worst. Ethique's is $4.67 per bottle at its three-bottle claim. See how long a shampoo bar lasts.
What if I want something else?
Add Kitsch for rice protein and a published wash ceiling (Kitsch vs Ethique, Kitsch vs HiBAR). Add Chagrin Valley or J.R. Liggett's for soap-based bars at lower prices per 100 g. See best shampoo bars.
How do the conditioning agents differ?
The ingredient lists show where the two brands diverge beyond sulfates. Ethique's lists lean on stearic acid, cocoa and shea butter, betaine, behentrimonium methosulfate and, on some bars, sodium cocoyl glycinate. HiBAR's Moisturize list leans on coconut oil, stearic acid, cetearyl and cetyl alcohols, behentrimonium methosulfate, polyquaternium 7, panthenol and glyceryl stearate. Both use sodium cocoyl isethionate as a base. The difference is on paper only; neither brand compares its bar against the other.
What do the brands publish on sourcing and certifications?
Both describe their bars as vegan and cruelty-free on the pages reviewed. Ethique states home-compostable packaging on its Hydrating page. HiBAR states recyclable cardboard packaging and says it makes the bars at its own facility, naming St. Paul, MN on the Moisturize page and Minneapolis on the Curl page, so check the current address if provenance matters to you. HiBAR publishes no bar weight on the pages reviewed, while Ethique gives 110 g.
Frequently asked questions
Is Ethique or HiBAR cheaper?
Ethique by $0.95 a bar on the bars checked ($14 against $14.95).
Which publishes a wash count?
Ethique, for its Hydrating bar (80+). HiBAR publishes none.
Is HiBAR sulfate-free?
HiBAR states its bars contain no sulfates, and the Moisturize ingredient list shows none.
Does Ethique use sulfates?
Its Hydrating and Clarifying lists include Sodium Coco-Sulfate, though the Hydrating page text says free from sulfates. Gentle, Curl-Defining and Purple lists do not.
Which has the better fragrance-free bar?
Both sell one; there is no published comparison. See best fragrance-free shampoo bars.
Sources
- Ethique Hydrating Shampoo Bar
- Ethique Clarifying Shampoo Bar
- Ethique Curl-Defining Shampoo Bar
- Ethique Gentle Shampoo Bar
- HiBAR Moisturize Shampoo Bar
- HiBAR Curl Shampoo Bar
- HiBAR Fragrance-Free Moisturize Shampoo Bar
- HiBAR Volumize Shampoo Bar
- HiBAR shampoo bar sampler
- HiBAR travel pouch
- Ethique Hydrating shampoo and conditioner duo
- HiBAR Moisturize shampoo and conditioner set